Skip to content

Sault Chamber of Commerce hands out the hardware

Village Media takes home two awards for digital innovation and international growth
Sault chamber awards 1

The Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce recognized its best in local entrepreneurship and in the community at its Outstanding Business Achievement Awards, Feb.29.

Village Media took home two awards.

The globally expanding digital media outlet won the Innovation Award and Beyond Sault Ste. Marie Award for its export prowess.

The company recently launched, the 12th site owned and operated by Village Media.

Want to read more stories about business in the North? Subscribe to our newsletter.

The company has expanded its reach across Canada through partnerships with Dougall Media, Glacier Media, Great West Digital, Laurentian Media and Rogers Media, and into the U.S. with McClatchy and the United Kingdom with Archant Media.

Algoma Power was awarded this year’s Safe Work, Sound Business Award. Sault College of Applied Arts & Technology was presented with the Employer of Year Award.

Angie DiGasparro of TD Canada Trust was awarded the Customer First Award.

Georgina Foods - McDonald’s was presented with the Diversity Award.

The Community Investment Awards went to CC Communications and Ontario Finnish Resthome Association.

Erica Hogan of Hogan's Homestead was presented with the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award.

City Meat Market received the Downtown Business of the Year Award.

Sault Ste. Marie KOA Holiday was awarded the Customer First Award.

Garden River First Nation Bingo Enterprises was the recipient of the Indigenous Business of the Year.

The Twinkie Foundation was awarded the Community Non-Profit Business of the Year Award.

InSPAration Float Centre was presented with the Rising Star New Business Award.

Mitch Case, director of student services with Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig, received the Indigenous Professional of the Year Award.

The Sault Ste. Marie Public Library was presented with the Leader in Accessibility Award.

Three Business of the Year Awards went to Krown Rust Control, Sault Ste. Marie Golf Club, and McDougall Energy.

Derek Jackson of Wardlaw Heating and Cooling received the Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce Volunteer of the Year Award.

Former chamber president Don Mitchell was presented with the Skipper Manzzuti Award for Business Achievement.

Sandra Hollingsworth received the Paul Dalseg Community Achievement Award. Algoma University president and vice-chancellor Asima Vezina was the recipient of this year’s President’s Award..

The chamber said almost 300 nominations were received for the award categories with 130 nominees meeting the awards criteria.