Skip to content

Northeastern businesses celebrated for sustainability

ReThink Green handed out annual awards in Sudbury on March 26
Mnogin Greenhouse, operating in Nipissing First Nation, earned the Erica Lagios Memorial Award for Food Sovereignty from reThink Green on March 26.

Nipissing First Nation’s hydroponic greenhouse is in the spotlight for its efforts toward food sovereignty.

Mnogin Greenhouse, a container farm west of North Bay producing fresh herbs, greens and lettuces on the Nipissing First Nation, has won the Erica Lagios Memorial Award for Food Sovereignty from reThink Green.

ReThink Green is a non-profit organization that facilitates a suite of programs to help businesses and organizations across Northern Ontario become more sustainable.

The organization held its annual Sustainability Awards in Sudbury on March 26.

Envisioned as far back as 2017, Mnogin Greenhouse officially opened in 2023.

Designed to produce year-round, the container farm uses a combination of hydroponics and sophisticated technologies to grow more than 100 fresh produce weekly.

Customers — both individuals and local restaurants — pick up their orders directly from the greenhouse.

The setup provides community members with fresh produce year-round, with minimal environmental impact.

Hydroponic growing uses less water than traditional growing and takes up less land, and the produce travels shorter distances, reducing the impact of transportation.

To eliminate food waste, any unsold edible produce is donated and scraps are brought to Northern Feather Farm to feed the animals.

Mnogin Greenhouse was one of eight recipients to be recognized during this year’s Sustainability Awards. Other awards given include:

  • Member of the Year: Colen McKeever (Kagawong)
  • Member of the Year: Parry Sound Bikes (Parry Sound)
  • Innovator of the Year: Board’s Honey Farm (Restoule)
  • Youth Leadership Award: Haley Massicotte (North Bay)
  • Educator of the Year: Haley Marshall (Sudbury)
  • Environmental Champion Award: Naomi Grant (Sudbury)
  • Environmental Champion Award: Emma Meadows (Sudbury)