Skip to content

Jury named for Sudbury 2050 design challenge

Fifteen-member panel will evaluate entries this fall
The McEwen School of Architecture in downtown Sudbury has chosen its jury for the Sudbury 2050 Urban Design Ideas Competition. (File photo)

A 15-member jury has been named for the Sudbury 2050 Urban Design Ideas Competition.

Announced in late August, the jury comprises a mix of faculty members, experts in architecture and urban design, municipal representatives, and graduate students.

Launched in May by the McEwen School of Architecture at Laurentian University, Sudbury 2050 is a visioning exercise that challenges participants to come up with unique ideas for the future of Sudbury’s urban core.

The deadline for submissions was Aug. 28.

In alphabetical order, the jury comprises:

• Shannon Bassett, faculty member, McEwen School of Architecture

• Brian Bigger, mayor, Greater Sudbury

• David Fortin, director, McEwen School of Architecture

• Victor Kolynchuk, education lead, Architecture49

• Bruce Mau, co-founder and CEO, Massive Change Network

• Geoff McCausland, municipal councillor, Sudbury

• Cheryl McEwen, board member, McEwen School of Architecture

• Deb McIntosh, municipal councillor, Sudbury

• Marianne McKenna, partner, Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg (KPMB) Architects

• Jason F. McLennan, creator, Living Building Challenge

• Tristan O’Gorman, graduate student, McEwen School of Architecture

• Lisa Rochon, architectural critic, urbanist, and design strategist, Citylab

• Dee Dee Taylor Eustace, founder, Taylor Hannah Architect Inc.

• Ted Wilson, professor of northern building design, McEwen School of Architecture

• Britney Ottley-Perrotte, graduate student

Adjudication of the entries is expected to get underway shortly, with winners slated to be announced later this fall.

Based in downtown Sudbury, the McEwen School of Architecture opened in 2013 as the first new Canadian architecture school in more than 45 years. Its tri-cultural mandate aims to serve Anishinabek, Francophone, and Anglophone students, with courses delivered in both English and French.