Skip to content

The 2017 40 Under Forty Award Winners announced

Applauding the new generation of Sudbury leaders
Top 40-40 award

Northern Ontario Business (NOB) honoured an accomplished and influential group of winners at the 40 Under Forty Award at Sudbury’s Caruso Club, Nov. 2.

The awards highlight the outstanding achievements of 40 of Greater Sudbury’s outstanding young entrepreneurs, executives, nd professionals. 

“We’ve seen the future and our community is in good hands,” said Abbas Homayed, vice-president and publisher of NOB. 

“The 2017 award recipients represent both the private and public sector and their contributions to date are making a significant and positive impact.”

The event was hosted by Homayed and Angie Robson, manager of corporate and aboriginal affairs with Vale, a co-presenting sponsor of the awards program since its inception. 

Winners, who were selected by a panel for their personal success and commitment to community, are:
Alexander Baboulas - General Manager, CIBC

Ryan Benoit - Owner, Positive Inception

Emily Blimkie - Manager, Tax, MNP LLP

Kristofer Cacciotti - Professional Quantity Surveyor, Polestar CM Inc.

Ali Catherwood – Owner, Dance Evolution

Dimpal Chauhan – Assay Scientist, SNOLAB

Mike Commito – Applied Research Developer, Cambrian College

Kelly Crawford – Director, Anishinabek Education System

Christa Favot – Surgeon, North Face Centre for Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery

Nicole Gauthier – Regional Coordinator, Cancer Screening and Engagement, Health Sciences North

Adam Haight – Sales Representative, Sutton-Benchmark Realty

Michael E. Jakubo – Owner, Jakubo Chartered Professional Accountants and City Councillor

Jason Ross Jallet – Film Producer, Entrepreneur, Nortario Films

G-Rant – Morning Show Host, The New Hot 93.5

Kylie Klym – Registered Psychotherapist, Owner, Kadence Music Therapy

Gilbert Lamarche – Coleman Mine Manager, Vale

Ashley Larose – Director, Customer Relations and Business Development, Science North

Joseph Leblanc – Executive Director, Social Planning Council of Sudbury

Michael Macnamara – Lawyer, Conroy Scott LLP

Jennifer McGillivray – Executive Director, Sudbury Symphony Orchestra

Jen McKerral – Music Outreach Officer, Music and Film in Motion

Rachel Amy Meehan – Director, Alumni Relations, Laurentian University

Melanie Morin – CEO, President, Staffstat

Ryan Nesci – Owner, President, Nesci’s Catering and Tony V’s Pizza

Theresa Nyabese – Front Line Supervisor, Vale

Bryna Patman – Advisor, Wealth management, Desjardins Caisse Populaire Vallee Est

Giuseppe Politi – Teacher, St. Benedict/Soccer Coach and Coach Developer

Lindsay Rebeiro – Chiropractor, ReBalance Physiotherapy and Chiropractic

Cheryl Recollet – Director of Sustainable Development, Wahnapitae First Nation

Alain Richard – Senior Electrical Engineer, BESTECH

Miranda Rocca-Circelli – Owner, Creative eLearning Design

Stacey Roles – Centre for CBT Sudbury

Gabrielle Roy – Owner, Stitch and Stone

Melissa Sheridan – President, CRCS Recreation 

Melissa Smith – Casting Director, Owner, MAS Acting Studio

Laura Stradiotto Gregorini – Writer, Publisher, Latitude 46 Publishing

Matthew Street – Regional Sales and Marketing Manager, Eastlink

Pamela Therrien – Vice President, Gtreater Sudbury Chamber of Commerce

Bora Ugurgel – COO, Centre for Excellence in Mining Innovation

Michael Venturi – Lawyer, Weaver Simmons LLP

Profiles of the 40 honourees can be found at