Skip to content

Indigenous tourism group appoints advisory committee

Members will guide 'respectful’ growth of Indigenous tourism in Ontario

Indigenous Tourism Ontario has established an Indigenous Cultural Integrity Advisory Committee to ensure the respectful growth of Indigenous tourism in Ontario.

Announced on Dec. 22, the committee comprises 14 members, referred to as Knowledge Keepers, who will be called upon to contribute their expertise in Indigenous history, knowledge, teachings, and practices as the organization conducts its work to develop and deliver culturally authentic tourism.

“We are extremely excited to engage this group of outstanding individuals,” said Kevin Eshkawkogan, the organization's president and CEO, in a news release.

“They will be focused on developing, implementing, and maintaining broad and inclusive Indigenous cultural integrity guidelines applicable to all aspects of tourism operations, engagements, and practices.

“Their work will be reflective of the nations in Ontario and will lead with a Indigenous-led grassroots approach.”

Members of the new committee include: 

  • Tyler French, Chippewas Of The Thames
  • Jaquie Jamieson, Six Nations of the Grand River
  • Beatrice (Bea) Johnson Tarbell, Akwesasne
  • Dominic Beaudry, Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory
  • Perry McLeod-Shabogesic, Nipissing First Nation
  • Neda Debassige, M’Chigeeng First Nation
  • Josh Eshkawkogan, Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory
  • Quinn Meawasige, Serpent River First Nation
  • Sam Manitowabi, Lac Seul First Nation
  • Michelle Savoie, Métis Nation of Ontario
  • Laurie McLeod-Shabogesic, Nipissing First Nation
  • Tim McGregor, Whitefish River First Nation
  • David R. Maracle, Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory
  • Dorothy French, Chippewas Of The Thames

Read the full news release here.