Skip to content

Mine supply group calls for hall of fame nominees

Annual MineConnect recognition program now underway

MineConnect is seeking nominees for its 2023 Hall of Fame awards.

The organization, which advocates for Northern Ontario's mining supply and service companies, is calling for submissions of worthy members to be inducted into the group's Hall of Fame.

A tradition that dates back to 2007, the Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding leaders who have made significant contributions to the advancement of Northern Ontario's mining industry over their lifetimes.

The acknowledgement is intended for those, living or deceased, who have contributed at least 20 years of accomplishment and impact in the sector.

Past inductees include Ross Woodward of Timmins, president at The Bucket Shop (2022); Norbert Hoffman of Sudbury, founder of Novenco (2021); Steve Matusch of Sudbury, cofounder at Ionic Technology Group (2020); and Walter Siggelkow of Sudbury, cofounder at Hard-Line (2020).

Among the eligibility criteria, nominees will have made significant contributions to the economic health of the region, introduced new or innovative products or services, and helped to create jobs for Northerners.

The full list of criteria and registration package are available here.

Winners are chosen by the MineConnect board of directors.

The deadline to submit is Friday, Dec. 8. A celebration of the winner(s) will be held during MineConnect's annual general meeting on Feb. 8, 2024 at Place des Arts in Sudbury.