Published on: 6/30/2014 9:09:32 AM Print | Font Sizes:  Normal Text Large Text

Wynne does the Queen’s Park shuffle

By: Northern Ontario Business staff

Northern Ontario’s balance of ministerial power now resides in Thunder Bay.

Premier Kathleen Wynne was sworn in June 24 with a new cabinet in a larger government with 23 ministries, including some rejigged ones.

Thunder Bay-Superior MPP North Michael Gravelle retains his position as Northern Development and Mines minister, but his cross-town counterpart Thunder Bay-Atikokan MPP Bill Mauro shifts over from Municipal Affairs to head up a newfangled ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry, replacing David Orazietti who goes to Government and Consumer Services.

Charles Sousa and Bob Chiarelli stay on as Minister of Finance and Minister of Energy respectively.

Brad Duguid now leads an expansive ministry of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure.

Among the other changes include Reza Moridi taking on dual roles as minister of Training, Colleges and Universities, and Minister of Research and Innovation; and Steven Del Duca being named Transportation Minister.

Del Duca replaces Glen Murray who’s now the Environment and Climate Change Minister.

Deb Matthews sits in a new position as president of the Treasury Board. She stays on as deputy premier.

comments powered by Disqus